The 30 Day Knitting Challenge – Day 9

Day 9: What fiber or yarn do you love working with?

Hopefully my answer to this one is not too unpredictably boring, but my favorite yarns to work with are any of the squishy-soft, lusciously dyed wools and wool blends from makers such as madelinetosh and malabrigo. There are many others that I haven’t worked with yet but I covet, like Miss Babs, The Plucky Knitter, and Neighborhood Fiber Co. (I know, I know–I live in Baltimore but haven’t used any of their yarn yet…I’ll get there). Also, I have three delicious skeins of Frabjous Fibers Wonderland Yarns just waiting to turn into something dreamy.

FullSizeRender 299

I like yarns with alpaca, cashmere, silk, or pretty much any other luxury fiber included. One of the yarns I used for my Miller’s Daughter is The Fibre Company Road to China Lace, which is a blend of alpaca, silk, cashmere and camel…and it is delectable.

IMG_4115

I like yarns with interesting or surprising colors, like Noro’s long color repeats and gradient yarns. While I haven’t worked with any speckled colorways yet, I think they look awesome! Someday, when I’m not on a yarn diet, I will sample more of these lovelies. Got to work down the stash first!

All that said, there is something compelling in working with a good, minimally processed, rustic wool. There will always be a place in my heart for natural, tweedy workhorse yarns. I do also think about the origin of fiber and how it got from the animal to my needles. Ideally, when I actually buy yarn again, I would like to keep that process in mind and select yarns that are ethically sourced and produced.

What yarns and fibers tempt you the most?

The 30 Day Knitting Challenge is the creation of Meggiewes who blogs at Knitting in Wonderland.

One comment

  1. Stefanie · June 9, 2016

    Madelinetosh and Malabrigo are my favorites also. The first has great weight. The second always feels good. It’s like to use more Manos too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

