FO Spotlight: Tunbridge Hat Test Knit

I completed my third test knit a few days ago, but didn’t have the opportunity to get modeled photos until today. So, cross one WIP off the list!

The rundown

Pattern: Tunbridge Malabrigo Hat (not released yet)

Yarn: Mystery yarn from a dbny grab bag. I believe it’s a worsted weight, wool/alpaca blend. It’s super soft and has a little halo to it. I used 171 yards.

Size made: Adult, slouchy version. Brim circumference is about 18-18.5″.

Needles: US9

Techniques used: Tillybuddy’s very stretchy cast on

Modifications: None

Ravelled: Here

The pretty

FullSizeRender 94

IMG_4210

IMG_4207

IMG_4202

IMG_4199

IMG_4200

Many thanks to my friend Kate for her impromptu modeling skills!

This was a quick, easy, fun knit. It would be a great project for someone who’s never done cables before. I will definitely make this again! There are a few things about this pattern I particularly like. The transition from ribbing to cables is cleverly done (I won’t say how, as I believe this pattern will be offered for sale). Also, the cables go in two different directions which makes it a little interesting.

I don’t have a recipient in mind for this hat yet, but I very well might just keep it for myself. I wore it for a while this evening and it’s really comfortable. Either way, I’d definitely make it again!

5 comments

  1. Stefanie · October 23, 2015

    💖 👏

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Paula @ Spin a Yarn · October 24, 2015

    Oh my goodness! Cables galore in your house lately 🙂 I wish this were available now as it is so cute 🙂 I decided to cast on today trying cables for the first time in a hat for a Christmas present. I think it also a super easy pattern; however will wait until I’m further than the second row 🙂 I love that color!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. MrsKirstyHoll · October 24, 2015

    Thanks for sharing and the comments about it being good for cable beginners 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. MrsKirstyHoll · October 24, 2015

    P.s. can you please let us know when the pattern is available?? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment