V-Day Swap Update

I mentioned I was participating in a mini swap for Valentine’s Day over at Carol E. Herman Designs, right? Well, now that I got my package and my swap partner got hers, I can share details about them here!

The swap guidelines were to include a small handmade item, a card and a treat ($5 or less). I love that we kept it small. I think that keeps it from crossing the line between fun and stressful. Plus, I haven’t been working for the past several months, so any disposable income has already been disposed of! For my package, I sent two knitted earbud (or whatever) pouches, a card, a small chocolate bar and a packet of Fringe Supply Co stitch markers:

For the pouches, I used madelinetosh tosh dk in Cousteau, which is the yarn I used to test knit the Wayfarer Hat for Carol. I thought that was fitting since it was from the same group. Also, I knew that my swap partner likes blues and greens so I made the other one out of madelinetosh twist light in Fathom. That is one of the yarns I used for my Merinda shawl test knit.

The package I got in the mail a couple of days ago was awesome! It had a card, some cool monkey stickers, some Dove chocolate truffles and…get this…a handknit dragon!

In the card, Heather (the sender) wrote that she thought my daughter might enjoy the dragon and the stickers, as well. Well, she was right about that one! As soon as Z saw the dragon, her eyes lit up and her hand reached for him automatically. She did pause to ask if I had knitted him for her. She was happy to hear that my knitting friend had made him for me to share with her. She promptly picked him up and hugged him and kissed him. She named him “Pony Dragon”. She was in constant motion so it was hard to get a good pic, but I think this series captures the moment well:

It’s been really fun watching the pictures of other peoples’ swap packages come in. It’s a creative bunch of people!

3 comments

  1. Carol E. Herman · February 6, 2016

    I loved reading your impressions of the swap, and the pictures of Z are priceless! It has been great having you in the group!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Wuv, Tru Wuv Mini Swap & Knitting Rock Stars – knit equals joy
  3. afthead · February 21, 2016

    The dragon is so sweet! I love the little pouches you made too. Very practical. What a cute idea!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment