Somebody Stop Me!

It’s 9:30ish pm. I’m cold, drowsy and have had a long day. I’m thinking about having a glass of wine. And I want to work on the Hat of One Million Years (i.e. my Color Dipped Hat). You see, I FINALLY started the decreases today. I have put so much time and effort into this stupid hat (it’s not really stupid) and I am unbelievably excited to have it off the needles soon. It’s been through multiple frogs and tinks, has been reworked and fixed and coaxed into being, and has generally been the bane of my knitting existence for about two months now. That might be a slight exaggeration, but you get the point. That one big frog caused some serious angst and a lot of time to recover from!

IMG_4532

The problem with working on it now? Glad you asked! I’ve found I really need natural light and a vaguely fresh brain to avoid making mistakes. Mistakes that are really, really, really hard to fix. The fingering weight charcoal yarn is just not good late evening knitting fodder. Fatigue and wine are about the perfect things to combine with this project…if I want to screw up royally and have to rip the whole damn thing out!

So yeah. Stop me. I’m begging you!

 

PS–I have yet another gratitude to the knitting world post brewing (remember that…it’s a pun) because I am the lucky recipient of a copy of the ebook, The Tea Collection by Clare Devine (do you get the pun now?) Being a raised-Episcopalian-yet-lesbionically-paganish-non-religious-spiritual-church-music-lover, I don’t tend to use the word “blessed” much, but I think it’s time to whip it out. It seems like I’m winning the knitting lottery almost every day right now! Many thanks to Orange Smoothie Knits for this one!

5 comments

  1. brooke · December 3, 2015

    Damn it, put it down! Now! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ariel · December 3, 2015

    It looks so good! But I totally get it. Navy socks and low light are not my friends.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Diane · December 3, 2015

    Go to bed.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Stefanie · December 3, 2015

    Yay on almost being done with this color dipped beanie. It looks really great though despite its challenges. That looks like a nice ebook of beanies. Congrats on your win.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Paula @ Spin a Yarn · December 3, 2015

    So happy you are almost finished! I know the feeling 🙂 It looks gorgeous!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment